Country: USA

Team Website:

2008 Roster: 11 Riders

Bikes Used: Louis Garneau

The Jittery Joe's Pro Cycling Team:

The Jittery Joe’s Professional Cycling Team has made their way into 2008 with six riders from 2007 and five new riders. Headlining the returning squad is Aussie captain Trent Wilson and American Neil Shirley. Neil surprised the cycling world at the end of the 2007 season by out sprinting Freddy Rodriguez for the last podium spot at the USPRO Road Race Championships behind winner Levi Leipheimer and runner-up George Hincapie. Also returning to the squad is Oregon’s powerhouse Evan Elken, Australian sprinter Cody Stevenson, Durango native Matt Shriver and Georgia’s young talent Tim Henry. Returning to the team after spending a few years with TIAA-Cref and BMC is Chad Hartley from the Chicago area. Chad raced for The Bean Team in the first Tour of Georgia in 2003 where he was second by only 5 seconds to Saul Raisin for the Best Young Rider’s jersey. Jonathan Cantwell and Ryan Sullivan continue the Australian tradition on the Jittery Joe’s squad—Jonathan spent a bit of time racing for the LaGrange team in California this year and Ryan (brother of Toyota-United’s Sean) spent his time honing his racing skills in Europe. Neo-pros Jared Barrilleaux from San Luis Obispo, CA and Ben Kneller from Durango, CO will bring youth and strength to the team. The 2008 Tour de Georgia will be their highest caliber race of the season thus far.

Main sponsor Jittery Joe’s Coffee enters their seventh year as premier title sponsor of the team. Jittery Joe’s started out as one café in downtown Athens and now has stores all over the South East as well as a coffee roaster in Athens. In 2006 they launched a new franchise operation.

2008 Highlights:

2nd Overall Valley of the Sun Stage Race.

2007 Highlights:

Best young rider Stage 1 Tour de Georgia, Most Aggressive Rider Stages 2 and 6 Tour de Georgia, 3rd Overall finisher USPRO Road Championships.

2008 Tour de Georgia Roster:

  • Trent Wilson
  • Neil Shirley
  • Matt Shriver
  • Evan Elken
  • Cody Stevenson
  • Jared Barrilleaux
  • Jonathan Cantwell
  • Ryan Sullivan

Copyright © 2010